Mommy 4-1-1

Mommies 4 Mommies: What We Wish We’d Known

In the beginning… Friday, April 4, 2008

Filed under: Cesarean Section (C-section),Twins and Multiples — our bit of heaven @ 11:02 am

Welcome to the world of multiples!  If you have or are expecting multiples you belong to a great “club”.  This is about my journey, I will start at the beginning.

Two and half years into our marriage we found out we were expecting our first baby.  We were so excited and had big plans for our little one.  In Canada, it is routine for your first ultrasound at 18 weeks.  We were no different; my pregnancy had been running smoothly except for extreme nausea and vomiting.  I was told at the ultrasound clinic that I would go in and the tech would do all the fetal measurements first then ask my husband to join us.  I was so excited to see this little monkey because I had been feeling movements for about two weeks.  The probe was placed on my belly and the tech asked if I was sure of my dates.  I was, he then put the probe down and handed me a towel.  He said I’ll be right back and left the room.  I began to get real scared.  He returned in about two long agonizing minutes and asked for my husband’s name, I told him.  He left the room and I was left sobbing as I was sure I had lost my baby, my precious baby that took so long to conceive.  My husband joined my side and asked if everything was alright, I couldn’t answer.  The tech came back in and apologized for disappearing, that he needed to tell the front desk he would be awhile.  Why, what was so wrong that we needed extra time?  He turned the monitor and said, “You are having twins.”  Our tears flowed down our faces as we spent the next hour watching and learning all we could about our Baby A and Baby B.   

At my next appointment, my doctor told me that things were going to be different.  I was to have more appointments, ultrasounds, fetal stress tests, and a c-section.  Whoa, wait. A c-section? I don’t want one!  He put his hand on mine and said, “These babies will determine how they will come out.  Right now Baby A (the bottom baby) is breech and Baby B is transverse (on top laying side ways.)  They could reposition themselves, but it is up to them.”  

I carried the twins to 39 weeks and 6 days.  One day shy of the 40 week mark.  The twins didn’t ever change positions; they stayed breech and transverse the whole time.  They were born on a Friday morning at 10:58am and 11:00am healthy and screaming.  (My delivery was a little difficult and I will share that in another post.) 

About two hours after the delivery room was when I met my babies for the first time. I sat up on the bed and placed the babies between my legs.  I said to myself, “This is it.”  It was survival mode from that point on. 

Future posts will follow on c-sections, breastfeeding twins, and life at home with two babies.

 

One Response to “In the beginning…”

  1. Kristin Says:

    Twins are great fun, aren’t they? Can’t wait to read more and see how similar things are for us. Or not. 🙂


Leave a Reply

